

The Association of English Medium Secondary Schools

香港英文中學聯會

c/o Heep Yunn School 1, Farm Road, Kowloon

The Association of English Medium Secondary Schools Fifteenth Annual General Meeting

Date: 11th November 2014 (Tuesday)

Time: 2:20 p.m.

Venue: Queen Elizabeth School

152, Sai Yee Street, Mongkok, Kowloon.

Present: Mr. Dave Lee (Chairperson), Ms Carol Yang (Vice-chairperson), Mr Tam

Kim Hung (Treasurer), Mr. Chan Ka Wai, Mr Chan Hon Ling, Mr. Chan Shiu Choy, Mr Hugo Cheung, and Ms Melaine Lee, Mr Jaxon Wang from the Executive Committee, Mr. George Tam (Honorary Advisor), Ms Ada Kwong (Dramafest 2015 Organising Committee Chairperson), together with 60 plus

participants representing 45 schools

Minutes:

1. Adoption of minutes of the previous AGM

There being no amendment, the minutes were adopted as read.

2. Chairperson's Report

The Chairperson 2013-2014, Mr Dave Lee, presented the annual report highlighting the following areas:-

(Please refer to Appendix One for details of the Chairperson's Report.)

- 2.1 Medium of Instruction Policy
- 2.2 School-Business Partnership Programme
- 2.3 Visit to CUHK
- 2.4 Lion Club's International Youth Exchange Scholarship
- 2.5 Drama Fest
- 2.6 Public Speaking Workshops
- 2.7 Liaison with other Education Councils, HKEAA and EDB

The Chairperson's Report was accepted by all present.

3. Treasurer's Report

Mr Tam Kim Hung, Treasurer 2013-2014, presented the Treasurer's Report for the fiscal year ended 31 August 2014. With a total income of HK\$71,104.85 and a total expenditure of \$39,839.30, a surplus of HK\$31,265.55 was recorded for the year. With a surplus brought forward from the previous year, the association had a surplus of HK\$124,819.50 to be carried forward to the next year (2014-2015).

(Please refer to Appendix Two for details.)

The Treasurer's report was accepted by all present.

The Chairperson gave a summary of the Survey on the Impact of Recent SSPA exercise on the eligibility percentage of students using English as the Medium of Instruction in schools. The findings revealed that quite a number of our member schools will be adversely affected due to the downward enrollment trend. The AEMSS will liaise with the EDB to discuss the issue.

5. Election of Executive Committee Members for 2014/15-2015/16

Since there were only 10 nominees for the 10 vacancies of the Executive Committee, the voting procedure was waived and all 10 were elected to be the new executive committee members. They are:

Mr Chan Hon Ling – Kiangsu-Chekiang College (Shatin)

Mr Chan Ka Wai – Queen Elizabeth School

Mr Chan Shiu Choy – CCC Ming Yin College

Ms Cheung Alice – SKH Lui Ming Choi Secondary School

Mr Cheung Man Wai Hugo – Shatin Tsung Tsin Secondary School

Mr Lee Chun Hung Dave - Heep Yunn School

Ms Lee Kam Ha Melaine – Maryknoll Convent School

Mr Tam Kim Hung – True Light Girls' College

Mr Wang Yu Tai Jaxon – SKH Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School

Ms Yang Ching Carol – St Stephen's College

6. Refreshments Break

There was a 30-minute break for refreshments. The meeting resumed at 3:30 p.m.

7. Talk by Guest of Honour

Mr Kevin Yeung, Under Secretary for Education, Education Bureau, addressed the following issues in his talk.

- 7.1 The importance of the English language in Hong Kong
- 7.2 The enhancement of the use of English language across the curriculum
- 7.3 Technology in Education, especially the concept of the Flipped Classroom
- 7.4 The Medium of Instruction Issue

The sharing session was followed by a question-and-answer session.

Mr Dave Lee, on behalf of the Association, thanked Mr Yeung for his presentation.

8. Report on Drama Fest 2014 and briefing on Drama Fest 2015

- 8.1 Ms Ada Kwong, Chairperson of the Drama Fest 2015 Organising Committee, gave a report on Drama Fest 2014 .
- 8.2 Ms Kwong also briefed the audience about the arrangements for Drama Fest 2015.
- 8.3 The entrance fee, including the fees for workshops, will be \$1,000 for each participating school.
- **9.** The AGM was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.